Site Map | Faculty Intranet | Staff Intranet | Student Intranet |

News Archive

ME Faculty Honored by College

Massoud Kaviany, Zoran Filipi, and Steve Skerlos received College of Engineering awards during the April 5 Faculty Honors Dinner Dance held in recognition of the outstanding accomplishments of faculty throughout the College.

Massoud Kaviany received the Teaching Excellence Award. These awards are presented to individuals who exhibit outstanding or unusual teaching skills. This includes the introduction of new and vital courses in the faculty member's field of specialization, curriculum planning in the Department or the College, and dedication to students.

Zoran Filipi received the Outstanding Research Scientist Award. These awards honor research scientists whose work has received broad and sustained recognition. Recipients are distinguished by demonstrated excellence in research and associated scholarly activities over an extended period of their career.

Steve Skerlos received the 1938E Class Excellence Award. This award is presented to a younger member of the faculty to recognize an outstanding teacher in both elementary and advance courses; an understanding counselor of students who seek guidance in their choice of a career; a contributor to the educational growth of his or her College; and a teacher whose scholarly integrity pervades his or her service to the University and the profession of engineering.

Many other ME faculty were recognized for the significant external recognitions they have received in the past year. The all star list includes:

Thomas Asmus

Mechanical Engineering and DaimlerChrysler

National Academy of Engineers

Arvind Atreya

ASME Fellow

Department of Energy Service Award

David R. Dowling

Acoustical Society of America Best Paper Award in Underwater Acoustics

Deba Dutta

Computer World Honors for Product Realization Class

Bogdan Epureanu

Petro-Canada Young Innovator Award

Brent Gillespie

NSF Presidential Early Career Award (PECASE) for Scientists and Engineers

Shixin (Jack) Hu

ASME Best Paper Award

Hong Im


Zoran Filipi

SAE Outstanding Speaker Award

Bruce H. Karnopp

Pi Tau Sigma Teacher of the Term

Massoud Kaviany

ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award (in science)

Sridhar Kota

ASME Fellow

AIAA Best Paper Award

Jun Ni

SME Fellow

Board of Advisors for Chinese Ministry of Science and Technology North American Manufacturing Research Conference Best Paper

Noel Perkins

GM Technical Education Program Outstanding Distance Learning Award Winner

Anna Stephanopoulou

Technology Review Top 100 Young Innovator

SAE Ralph Teetor Award

Dawn Tilbury

2002 Network Operations and Management Symposium Best Paper Award

Galip Ulsoy

2002 ASME Leadership Award, Dynamic Systems and Control Division Best Paper Award, ASME Dynamic Systems and Control Division

Alan Wineman

ASEE Archie Higdon Distinguished Educator Award

Wen-Jei Yang

Fellow of the World Innovation Foundation, Institute of National Enrichment & Development Leonardo da Vinci Award, 10th International Flow Visualization Conference, Kyoto, Japan Bicentennial Medal and Honorary Foreign Member, Societa' Medica Chirurgia di Bologna

Other Recent News