Site Map | Faculty Intranet | Staff Intranet | Student Intranet |

News Archive

Two ME Professors selected for 2002 Outstanding Faculty Awards

Two Mechanical Engineering Department faculty members have been selected for this year's Outstanding Faculty Awards in ME. The award recipients were selected by the M.E. department chair A. Galip Ulsoy. Congratulations to these recipients for their outstanding contributions to the department.

DIANN BREI, Associate Professor
brei,Diann BreiProfessor Brei has provided national leadership in developing novel new piezoelectric actuator designs for smart structure applications funded by the Air Force and DARPA. She has also received national recognition and an ASEE best paper award for developing, with her colleague Bill Schultz and students from Pi Tau Sigma, the ProCEED educational program that provides community service design projects in the Mechanical Engineering senior design course. She also serves as the Director of the Design Laboratory in Mechanical Engineering, and in that capacity oversees the sophomore, junior and senior design courses in the department which each serve over 250 students per year.

DAWN TILBURY, Associate Professor
tilbury,Dawn Tilbury Professor Tilbury has provided leadership in developing new areas of research activity that combine control theory with computer science and manufacturing applications. These are in control of networks, modular logic control design for manufacturing systems, and the distributed network-based control of manufacturing systems. She has organized national workshops sponsored by NSF and the ERC-RMS, developed sessions at national conferences that have drawn considerable attention and interest to these new problem areas, and has worked closely with industry in their implementation. These activities have led to her receipt of the prestigious AACC Eckman Award, and an invitation to give a plenary lecture at the American Control Conference in May 2002.

Other Recent News