Site Map | Faculty Intranet | Staff Intranet | Student Intranet |

News Archive

Stefanopoulou Receives Henry Russel Award

anna,Professor Anna Stefanopoulou Associate Professor Anna Stefanopoulou ( ) has been selected to receive the prestigious 2005 Henry Russel award. This exceptional honor recognizes distinguished research scholarship and achievement as a teacher. The award is one of the highest honors the University of Michigan confers on faculty with less than six years in tenure.

Stefanopoulou was one of two College of Engineering faculty to receive this prestigious award this year. The other was Associate Professor David Blaauw of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. An awards ceremony has been set for 4 p.m. Tuesday March 8, 2005, in the Rackham amphitheatre, to honor them and Professor of Mathematics William Fulton, the recipient of the Henry Russel Lectureship. Following the ceremony, Fulton, one of the world's leading scholars in algebraic geometry, will discuss his mathematical predecessors in the lecture, "Do We Understand Geometry of the 19th Century?"

The Henry Russel Award and the Henry Russel Lectureship were established in 1925 with a bequest from the late Henry Russel of Detroit. Russel was a U-M alumnus and former vice president of the now-defunct Michigan Central Railroad. Recipients are chosen for their achievements in research and teaching.

Other Recent News