Site Map | Faculty Intranet | Staff Intranet | Student Intranet |

News Archive

ME Faculty Garner Awards

Congratulations to the following ME faculty, who recently received promotions or awards.

As of September 1, Ellen Arruda, David Dowling, Huei Peng, Ann Marie Sastry and Volker Sick have been promoted to the rank of Professor. Hong Im has been promoted to the rank of Associate Professor with tenure. Several Primary Research Faculty also have been promoted, including Zheng Dong Ma , Research Scientist; Zoran Filipi , Research Associate Professor; and Michael Kokkolaras , Associate Research Scientist.

A research team led by Assistant Professor Suman Das has received the Literati Club 2005 Highly Commended Award for their article "Direct-Write Deposition of Fine Powders Through Miniature Hopper-Nozzles for Multi-Material Solid Freeform Fabrication" published in the Rapid Prototyping Journal.

The article "Bone Tissue Engineering Using Polycaprolactone Scaffolds Fabricated via Selective Laser Sintering" co-authored by a collaborative effort between the research groups of Assistant Professor Suman Das and Associate Professor Scott Hollister has been featured as a top 25 article by the journal of Biomaterials.

Assistant Professor Bogdan Epureanu has been selected to participate in NSF's Frontiers in Engineering Education.

Assistant Professor Charlie Hasselbrink's work made the cover of Analytical Chemistry with his article entitled "Rapidly Prototyped Three-Dimensional Nanofludic Channel Networks in Glass Substrates."

Research Associate Professor Zoran Filipi has been selected to receive the University's research faculty recognition award.

Adjunct Professor Tom Gillespie has been selected to receive the GM Technical Education Program Outstanding Distant Learning Faculty Award.

Assistant Professor Katsuo Kurabayashi's paper entitled "Nano-Imprinted Strain-Controlled Elastomeric Gratings for Optical Wavelength Tuning with Visible Light", co-authored with his student, Yi-Chung Tung, has appeared in Applied Physics Letters as a cover page article.

Professor Ann Marie Sastry has been selected to receive the University's faculty recognition award.

Professor Michael Thouless' joint work with Shu Takayama from BME on "Fabrication of reconfigurable protein matrices by cracking" appeared in the cover of Nature Materials. Thouless was also selected as the ME Professor-of-the-Term by Pi-Tau-Sigma.

Other Recent News